Ouch (Redux)

I’ve had a couple of people ask me how I’m feeling, making me realize that I haven’t really said much about my health in awhile. And by ‘awhile’ I mean… 19 days. Has that really been it? Sheesh.

Anyway, following that last ‘whining about my health’ blog, I did not make it work the next day, or several days to follow. I wound up at the hospital, being pocked, prodded, and CT scanned. To be fair, I’m pretty sure the CT scanner was new and I was only given the test because the doctor was super pumped about it.

Last week I finally saw the GI surgeon, and it was an enormous waste of time. I was there for a grand total of 5 minutes, during which he told me: 1. My gastroenterologist was being irresponsible; 2. He didn’t want to step on anyone’s toes by ordering tests that should have been ordered by someone else; 3. He does not trust CT scans; 4. I’m probably going to develop colon cancer, just an FYI; and 5. Go back to my gastro, request the correct test I need for a GI surgeon consult, and once that’s done return with the results to my family doctor, who can then send in a new surgeon referral.

So, I should have some idea what’s happening by summer 2015. Treatment may begin the following spring. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised- It took nearly 2 years to be diagnosed with UC in the first place. And just when I had started to rock the emaciated look, too. Figures.

But not to be all Debbie Downer, there’s been some good this week past week. I ordered a new camera lens (OOOOOH) and this came in the mail yesterday:

writtenpng

It’s finally starting to feel official! I’m done with grad school and will (hopefully) never have to deal with Humber ever again!

I also saw a couple of movies: ‘Hollidaysburg’ and ‘This Is Where I Leave You’. I highly recommend both.

Hollidaysburg is an indie film, and related to a docu-series called ‘The Chair’ that is currently airing. The premise of the series is that two first-time directors are given identical scripts, and the show follows where they take it. It’s really interesting to watch. The director of this film, Anna Martemucci, wrote a film that I saw awhile ago and really enjoyed, so it’s neat to watch her put on a directors hat. I also fell in anxiety/cry sister love with her when she said:

“I think that I’m probably going to cry a lot. And probably in front of people. And that’s okay.

I think that I can be a leader and still have emotion, so I’m struggling with the idea that I have to hide any fear or overwhelming-ness or frustration that I have because otherwise people will not treat me like a leader. Or not think that I’m a good filmmaker or something.

But, I don’t know. I call bullshit on that. I feel like I’m going to experience a lot of stuff and that’s okay and that’s part of this experience.”

As someone who has spent her entire life being judged for being ‘a crier’ I can’t tell you how happy I was when she publicly called out cry-shaming. Of course, I cried at work on Sunday because a guest was crying and no one believed me that that was a thing, so, 3 steps forward, 2 steps back. Ah well.

Here’s the trailer for her film:

I also went to see This Is Where I Leave You with my mom a couple of days ago. It was great, obviously (Fey, Bateman, win):

Leave a Reply

