Checking In

I arrived in London on Saturday after an uneventful journey over. The flight was on time, there was no line up (and I mean not a single person!) at immigration when I arrived, no bags were lost, and the Gatwick Express was waiting when I arrived at the platform.

Michelle was kind enough to come and meet me at Victoria station to help me with my things. And thank goodness! We got on the underground, did our one transfer, and shortly after the entire line shut down due to a signal outage. We had to transfer to a third train and exit at the final open stop where we then had to find a bus to take us up the rest of the line. With my 100 lbs of stuff. But we eventually made it!

On Sunday I slept. And slept. And slept a bit more.

On Monday I headed in to Central London to a new arrivals orientation through BUNAC Work In Britain. It was very helpful. They told me everything I need to do to legally work, how to file taxes, where to get a bank account, employment agency recommendations, etc. After the orientation I headed to Angel to buy a mobile and open a bank account. I’d never been to Angel before, but it was so nice! And very easy to get to from where I’m staying. I’ll have to remember that.

Yesterday I started the process of getting a National Insurance Number, NHS, applied for a pile of jobs online, and checked in with a few jobs I’d applied to before leaving home to let them know I was now here.

Today I headed in to a big shopping area close to where I’m staying and handed out my CV to anyone willing to take it! Fingers crossed that something comes up in the next week or so.

That’s about all that’s new here. I’m still jet lagged and exhausted as I’ve been having a lot of trouble falling asleep. I’m hoping that that passes soon though.

Ummm… Yeah. That’s everything! I’ll hopefully have good news on the job front the next time I post. *Fingers Crossed*

One Reply to “Checking In”

Comments are closed.