New York City Round 1 and 2

As some of you know I’ve found myself in New York City twice in the last 6 weeks. The first trip was for my birthday and New Years, and the second, a few weeks later, so my best friend Tara could cross meeting Alan Rickman off her bucket list.

I’ve been meaning to write this entry for weeks now, but just hadn’t gotten around to it! But I’m now leaving for London in 3 days, and figured I ought to get it down now before I move on to the next big trip! Plus, I’m procrastinating from studying for the 5 exams I write before leaving for London…

For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to go to New York City at Christmas time and see the tree in Rockefeller Centre, but the timing/prices have never worked out. This year I decided to just go for it. And thankfully Vi was in town as well! So a nice little 25th birthday/New Years trip was planned.

Of course, my first stop had to be 30 Rock. And that beautiful tree did not disappoint!

(As always, click pictures to enlarge)

While there we also saw two shows: The closing performance of Bonnie and Clyde, and Daniel Radcliffe’s last performance of How To Success In Business Without Really Trying. I didn’t love Bonnie and Clyde, but absolutely adored How To Succeed. And seeing Dan Radcliffe wasn’t too shabby either!

We also went to see The Artist at the Paris Theatre, which was great. The film was wonderful, and I ran in to Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Twice!

It was so nice to see the city completely decked out for the holidays! There were snowflakes, candy canes, and red and green decorations everywhere!

The second trip, just a few weeks later, was a jam packed weekend. Tara and I left around 4am on Friday morning and were in the city by 10. We checked in our hotel and dumped our bags before heading out in the pouring rain. We wandered around the stores in Times Square, grabbed lunch, and took an afternoon nap (I mentioned we left at 4am, right?)

That evening we grabbed some snacks and headed to the theatre to see Alan Rickman’s play Seminar. The show itself wasn’t my cup of tea, but it was fun seeing him live! After the show we waited by the stage door so Tara could meet him. He was quiet, and didn’t take pictures with anyone, but that’s okay. He signed our playbills, smiled at Tara when I said we came down from Canada just to see him for her birthday, and we took sly pictures with one another in the same shot with him. Heh. It worked!

On Saturday, our one full day, we wandering the city. I heard about The High Line from a friend, and decided to check it out. It was so neat! It’s a park that extends numerous blocks down the lower west side of Manhattan, about a story above ground level. It swerves around buildings, and even through them at some points. It was very cool!

After that we walked to Washington Square Park and then down to SoHo for some shopping and lunch.

After that we headed back to Times Square for a bit of a rest and then headed up to Central Park. We had such a gorgeous day. It wasn’t too cold, the sun was shinning. Perfect day!

That evening we went to see Porgy & Bess. Oh. My Gosh. It was without a doubt one of the best shows I have ever seen. I was familiar with it beforehand, but seeing it live was a whole new experience. I started crying about halfway through the second act and couldn’t stop. I was a hot mess by the end! Seriously, such a moving and incredible show. After we stage doored and met everyone. I was still a bit of a hot mess ;)

On Sunday we needed to be at the airport by around 2, so we headed out in the morning. We got breakfast and saw Grand Central and the New York City Public Library. Gorgeous architecture!

So, that’s been 2012 thus far! All that’s worth mentioning. Most of the time is spent on school work, or Twitter. Jenna Fischer just joined Twitter, so it’s been a pretty even split as of late ;)

Anyway, as I said, off to London in a few days. And I am so excited! I may blog mid-trip. We’ll see!

Happy Saturday,

Spencer

One thought on “New York City Round 1 and 2

Comments are closed.