Wannabe Urban Explorer: Take 1!

Over the past few months I’ve been fascinated by this idea of “urban exploration.” If you’re not familiar with the concept, it’s essentially going in to abandoned /off-limit spaces to look around / photograph / explore, without disturbing the space itself. The adventurous side of my brain has been reeling with the idea of getting to see these normally unseen spaces. However, the practical part of my brain resists, as urban exploration tends to be, well, illegal. I do justify it with my belief that, while it is trespassing, it’s trespassing with no intent to harm or steal from the space. It’s simply for observational purposes. While of course if you were to apply this logic to someone’s personal space, i.e. a home, it’s wrong and creepy and all that jazz. But urban exploration isn’t about that. It’s about the forgotten spaces. The abandoned spaces left to time and the elements to rot and whither.

Here are a few of my favourite urban exploration pages:

8 Abandoned Theme Parks “Open” for Exploration

Afflicted: 11 Abandoned UK Asylum’s “Open” for Exploration

10 Creepiest Abandoned Water Parks On Earth

Underground History: Disused Stations on London’s Underground

After finding myself in a bit of a mental rut recently, I decided I wanted a little fun to take my mind of things. And thus came a plan for my first stint in the world of urban exploration. I decided to play it safe and go to a place that was close, accessible, and heavily trafficked by the “wannabe urban explorer”, such as myself. So, on a brisk, but sunny, December afternoon I found myself on at the abandoned Wet ‘n Wild at Prudhomme’s Landing.

If you’re not familiar with this park, it was great at it’s peak. I spent a great deal of time here growing up. It was only a 20 minute drive up the highway, reasonably priced, and a good size for families with younger children. I recall it having 3 water slides, a wave pool, a lazy river, kiddy pool, and then some additional attractions outside of the water park area (go-karts, bumper cars, a maze, electric tubes [not sure what they were called!], and a huge children’s play place). It wasn’t a huge park, but I remember going there frequently with friends and cousins and having a blast.

Anyway, going back to a place you loved as a kid and finding it in ruins is a bit sad. Of course nothing is forever, but it was strange to wander around the now mostly vacant land remember what I think use to stand there. I went online and found some pictures of the park in it’s heyday. It makes it even sadder to see them side by side!

Walking in to the park. This was the path that took you from the front entrance to the water area. I remember there being an ice cream stand along here:

The overgrowth in what was once the wave pool:

The control room for the wave pool:

A tunnel that one of the water slides use to run through:

The end of the last remaining slide:

The staircases long ago collapsed:

The old Go-Kart track:

The kiddie pool seems to have become a make-shift fire pit:

I so remember racing to these down the path from the front entrance!

What was the font entrance:

Well, that’s it for that. It was cold, muddy, reminiscent, and fun. I think I might need to try a bit more of this urban exploring! I don’t know where or when, but, I’m sure I’ll think of something.

3 Replies to “Wannabe Urban Explorer: Take 1!”

  1. Okay, I don’t think I was supposed to get as sad as I did looking at the water park pictures,they’re heartbreaking. I hate seeing places I loved as a kid, that are now no more :(
    We need to go exploring together xx

Comments are closed.