When September Ends

Well, it took me a week, I’m back with a final post! I wanted to give myself a few days to relax and reflect and all that. And then I just sort of forgot… Woops! But, then I remembered and here we are! I’ve been home a week and have honestly spent most of it doing a whole lot of nothing. Saw people, slept, ate. Pretty good week to me. I even had a job interview this morning, although I’m not too sure how that went.

I’m not sure why, but I’ve been having trouble talking about my trip with people. Everyone has been asking, as I expected, but I think my brain is so overloaded with everything I did that I don’t know how to respond. There was just… so much. And everywhere was so different. They were all great in their own way, but I’m having trouble describing everything. As most people know, explanations aren’t my suit!

The one thing I can say with certainty: The trip was two weeks too long. A month is a fantastic amount of time for a trip where you’re bouncing from place to place. 6.5 weeks is a little much. I figured this going in, but I was feeling ambitious, and it’s likely the only time I’ll ever do this, so, I figured to hell with it. I didn’t want to regret not going somewhere, and with it being slightly too long, I did come home feeling like I couldn’t possibly have done anymore. I’ll still wish I got to Poland, but it wasn’t in the cards!

I did find that as nice as some places were, I don’t feel the need to go again. Prague, Venice, and Stockholm were all beautiful. I’m so glad I got to see all of them, but I feel like seeing them once was great and I don’t need to go back. Maybe someday, but, for now I’m happy having seen them. Barcelona I’d like to revisit, even to just wipe away any bad thoughts I have about it. This tactic worked for Dublin and Edinburgh! I know adore both cities. And I’m pretty sure the same thing could happen with Barcelona. Although, should I ever go again, I’ll need to, without a doubt, go with Sara!

The first two weeks of my trip were definitely a highlight. My amazing travel buddy, Orla, and I went to London, Edinburgh, Belfast, and Dublin. All of which were fantastic. We had perfect weather (most of the time!), little travel issues (aside from one flight “delay” with easy jet), and saw so many awesome things that I hadn’t gotten the chance to see in those cities before. The first two weeks were the original plan for the trip and I’m so, so happy that everything worked out and we were able to go!

I’m also so glad to have been able to meet up with Aideen, and Raisa & Mikko along the way! You were all such wonderful hosts and tour guides! Thank you!

I am hoping to get back to the UK/Ireland at some point. Not soon, but, some day! As I now know that flights out of Buffalo are half the price of flights from Toronto, it actually wouldn’t be too ridiculous to go back one day! /Wishful thinking.

And I’m happy to report that all of the hiccups in this trip have not put me off traveling! Heh. I’m off to Washington, DC at the end of the month and I’m very excited!

Anyway. This post was quite ramble-y. I’ll stop now! Just want to thank everyone who followed along!

I might keep the blog going and update with any smaller trips I do. There won’t be many over the next while, but, why not.

Thank you again for reading along! Take care!

Spencer

Leave a Reply

