Climb Every Mountain!

Okay, so I didn’t climb every mountain. But I did climb one! I’ll get to that in a moment.

First of all, let me just say that I am completely in love with Austria. I’m sitting on a train as I type this on my way to Italy and everytime I look out I see a new breathtaking view. This is without a doubt the most beautiful place I have ever visited. Every village looks like something out of a storybook. Adorable little German homes surrounded by the greenest grass, and a backdrop of snow capped mountains. It’s almost sickening how perfect it all looks! Anyway, I’ll start at the very beginning. A very good place to start…

From Prague I took the train to Salzburg. Salzburg has been absolutely amazing! On Thursday I got here in the afternoon and spent the rest of the day wandering around the old section of the city. The weather was perfect and it was a wonderful first glimpse of the city.

 

On Friday I took a bus to Berchtesgaden, Germany. The weather wasn’t perfect, it was quite cloudy, but it was unreal all the same! I started the day off with a two hour boat trek around lake Konigssee, which was so, so beautiful. At the opposite end of the lake from where we started we were able to get off and hike around a bit. I took a trail up to lovely lake and waterfall.

On the boat:

Hiking around the lake:

In the afternoon I went up the road a bit to Jennerbahn. There I was able to take a cable car up about 6000 feet to the top of Mount Jenner. Now, I’m not usually too nervous about heights or being enclosed, but, even this one freaked me out! I was in a tiny little pod by myself and it ran a steep line up the mountain. The entire trip took 20 minutes.

I made it to the top of the mounatin and was met with a view of… white?
Thankfully the clouds sporadically cleared in spots and I was met with the most magnificent view I have ever seen.

From the summit there was a trail which led to the very tip of the mountain. I was debating it at first, since the lack of view was rather discouraging. But, I did, and I’m so glad! From the up most point of the mountain I got a full 360 degree view. Mostly clouds, but, again they would occasssionally clear to an amazing view:

On my final day in Salzburg I it. You know what I’m talking about: The Sound Of Music Tour! It was excellent. They took us all around the city to different locations from the film, gave lots of little fun facts about filming, and even drove us quite a distance into the countryside for some amazing scenic views and to see the church where Maria and Georg were married. It was in a beautiful little town where we were given some time to wander around. We saw an actual wedding procession going into the church, and ate apple struddle. It was great!

As I said, I’m on my way out of Austria. Quite sad. And by the time I actually have Internet and get this posted I’ll be in Venice. Which, isn’t so sad! I’ll be there until Wednesday at which point I’ll be flying back to Ireland for 5ish days. Orla and I have quite a lot of concerting planned, which I’m excited about!

I also can’t believe that I’m at the halfway mark of my trip. It’s strange- It feels like it’s flown by, but at the same time, it feels like forever since I left home. I had a couple days last week where I was so fed up with travelling and thinking “I’m ready to go home”. Thankfully that passed and I’m feeling energetic and good to go! I think I just hate the actual travelling portion of travelling! Airports, train stations, lugging around baggage, waiting around, boredom, all that. Sadly though, I don’t have a TARDIS, so such things are unaviodable.

Now I’m just writing to kill time on the train, so I’ll leave it here!

Thanks for reading!

Added at time of posting:

I made it to Venice! What an incredible city. And my B&B is in a fantastuic

3 thoughts on “Climb Every Mountain!

  1. WOW. Those views! So freaking gorgeous. Why is everything in Europe so beautiful? Hahaha. Seriously though, beautiful.

    Was Mozart from Salzburg? I assume that’s why that statue is there. ;)

    • He is! I didn’t know that until I got there. And I accidently put two pics of the statue in the blog. Woops! But if I try to edit it my computer will freeze, so, two pics it is!
      And I’m totally jealous of Europes gorgeousness. I’ve heard that Canada is gorgeous, but it’s too frakking expensive to travel across and see, so I remain skeptical ;)

Leave a Reply

