Bob Lowblaw’s Prague Blog

I had a nice time Prague. I wasn’t sure what to expect as I hadn’t done much research at all on it beforehand. The weather was awful, but the city was beautiful. I arrived there last Monday after a long day of travelling from Dublin. The flight was alright. Only about 2 hours, and I slept through most of it. Getting from the airport to my pension was a little more difficult though! I had to take a bus into the city, the metro through the city, and then walk from the metro station to my accommodation. Doesn’t sound too difficult, but, I have this inability to navigate public transportation. That mixed with a language barrier, and my complete ignorance/understanding of the Czech currency made the trip far less than ideal. But, I eventually made it to the correct metro stop! Hazzah!

And then I came out of the subway to find none of the streets had signs on them… What? Are you kidding me, Prague?! After 10 minutes of aimlessly walking in what was potentially the wrong direction with 30 kilos of baggage hanging off of me, I found someone to ask for help. She also turned out to be a tourist and had one of the incredibly handy tourist maps on her. Thank goodness! So, we figured out where we were (as neither of us actually knew) and where I needed to go. She was then so sweet and gave me an extra map she had.

Eventually I found my way to my pension. The owner was so, so nice and helpful. He had a booking mix up and told me that I’d need to switch rooms after the first night. That meant having to stay packed my first night, but it also meant a better room that first night, so, I survived. Unfortunately I was so exhausted that first day that I collapsed on the bed and slept until the following morning. Woops!

The weather was awful my first full day there, which wasn’t ideal. But I walked down to Old Town and saw a bit of it while the weather was still decent. I took a bus tour in the afternoon which wasn’t all that exciting (all pre recorded), but very informative. It took us around Old Town, New Town, and up to Prague Castle. It was downpouring by the time I got off the bus though and I managed to get completely soaked. I ran into a mall and had to buy a shirt and socks at H&M.

Some pictures from my first day:

The weather improved the next day. Still overcast, but at least not raining. I walked back to Old Town and over to Charles Bridge. And, to my surprise, there was a blue sky by the time I arrived!

The following morning I had to leave painfully early to catch a train to Salzburg. But, getting to the train station was far easier than the airport. One stop on the metro and I was there! I like when it’s that simple. When I got on the train I realized I’d forgotten to send postcards. They were written out and stamped, but I forgot to find a mail box! Therefore apologies to those of you who receive a Prague postcard sent from Salzburg!

Anyway, that’s about it for Prague. I took it easy, which I definitely needed at that point!

One thought on “Bob Lowblaw’s Prague Blog

  1. Yay for relaxing! Haha… the city does look gorgeous, I’ve heard a lot of good things about Prague. It looks very… Slavic to me. Does that make sense? lol.

Comments are closed.